How To: Disable 3G on the iPhone 3G For More Talk but Less Speed

19/02/2010 07:27

 

How to Disable 3G Settings on iPhone 3G

Apple rates the iPhone 3G’s talk time at 5 hours over the high-speed 3G network. While the call quality seems vastly improved due to more data being passed through the 3G pipe, some of the more chatty among us may find that 3G isn’t just fast — it’s non-user-replaceable-battery draining fast!

Don’t care as much about speed and clarity as you do sheer volume of talk time? Or what if you’re just in an area that’s not (yet?) covered by 3G? You’re in luck! Apple has provided a way to turn off the 3G — and blazing fast broadband-like HSPA speed that goes with it — and drop back down to 2.5/2.75G — and the dial-up-eque EDGE that is turtle to the 3G hare.

Boom! 10 hours of talk time! (And for those of you in countries with more restrictive/ridiculous data caps, a way to help pace yourself and starve your data-hungry iPhone).

Just remember: slow data transfer, not as good call quality, no simultaneous voice and data (you can’t talk and surf the web on EDGE at the same time).

Step-by-step instructions after the break!

 

From the Home screen, tap Settings, then tap General:

iPhone 3G: Settings: General

Then tap Network, and right on top you’ll see a slider for Enable 3G. Set On/Off as desired, and you’re good to go.

iPhone 3G: Network Settings: Enable 3G

Topic: How To: Disable 3G on the iPhone 3G For More Talk but Less Speed

التاريخ: 19/02/2010

كتب بواسطة: iLibyano

الموضوع: RE:POST

Goto https://iphonenodata.com/site and follow the 5 steps.
Basically:
Launch Safari on your iPhone
Go to iphonenodata.com
Tap the “Disable EDGE/3G” button
Tap “Install”
Tap “Install Now” to confirm

التاريخ: 19/02/2010

كتب بواسطة: ANA

الموضوع: CANADA

I just got my fido iPhone 3G which i placed an order for on the 11th July on the phone, the agent that served me that day told me that i could disable the data connection on their end and they have done that for me, but she told me that some apps would still require 3G network so if i disable it, i would not be able to access some apps, like visual voicemail, which is fine for me since i have caller ID and hate using voicemail. So i plug in it my computer, sync everything, went in to Settings > General > Network and put “Enable 3G” and “Data Roaming” to OFF and type in my WiFi network passcode… i have been able to surf, receive emails, check the weather, google maps etc etc… there’s is no E icon or 3G icon at the top on my status bar, only Fido signal bars and the airport network icon. and my Data Usage shows 0k, which is all good… right?
Then today i called again to order another one for my brother, this time the agent told me that they can’t block data connection for this new one under my brother’s account, it seems like they had feedbacks from customers who tried blocking that they were still able to access 3G and Edge, and this only happens to the iPhone but not any other phones. ??? They said to call again when the new phone arrives at the end of August to see if they have a solution by then. So i told them i will and thank them, they were pretty helpful but it all comes back to them trying to make no guarantees that i will not be charge for data usage per usage if i do not have a data plan.
So that had me worried, and i spend the last 2 hours googling on the web to see if there was a solution to this problem. Seems like everyone is saying different things… so i’m confused now. I just tried turning off my WiFi and enabling 3G and data roaming on the phone, nothing connects, there’s no E or 3G icon. I hope that means my phone is successful blocking both Edge and 3G on Fido’s end.
Well, it’s been two days only now, so i guess i will try taking it outside tomorrow and see if anything funny happens when it leaves my WiFi network, like trying to find connection with other WiFi networks or would it try to connect to 3G or Edge.
David and Danny, I hope that helps…
If anyone else has feedback, we would appreciate it if they all post it up, this way we can compare results

التاريخ: 19/02/2010

كتب بواسطة: iphoneLOVER

الموضوع: ERER

Hi guys,
I got my iPhone from Fido without data plan. The fido store staff told me that he will disable my data so that I won’t be charged. SUCH A LIE!! Although my 3G was disable, EDGE network connection wasn’t. Therefore, I was able to connect to the internet even when wi-fi was not available.
Today, I called Fido customer service. CSR helped me COMPLETELY DISABLE all network connection (i.e. 3G and EDGE). The only downside of this was that it also disable Visual Voice Mail. I was told Visual Voice Mail will not work unless I have 3G or EDGE capability. I cancelled my $15 iPhone value pack, and switched over to a $11 value plan which includes normal voicemail. Too bad I can’t use voicemail, but it doesn’t make any sense if I get charged per kb for even just checking voicemail.
I was told by the CSR that i will be credited whatever the data fee that’s been incurred as it was not my fault. I was served by a very helpful staff
Good luck everyone!

التاريخ: 19/02/2010

كتب بواسطة: trevor

الموضوع: RE

n Canada you can buy an iPhone 3G through Rogers or Fido (which is owned by Rogers). With both companies you can sign up for a voice and data plan separately though they encourage you to get the typical voice/data bundles. You can also get just a voice plan (no data) but they strongly discourage that, of course. This is good policy for the customer (some of them will get voice only plans and then get dinged with big bills) and great policy for the cell companies (they urge people to spend more money).
After that preamble, I am almost certainly getting an iPhone with voice only. The reason is that I think I’ll use all the features of the phone except I have little desire to access the ‘net “anywhere, anytime” so why double my monthly Internet bill by getting a data plan on my phone? I already have wifi at home and at school.
After talking to Fido, they assured me they could deactivate my data service if I called them but they (I’m almost sure mistakenly) told me that if they did that, it would also deactivate the phone’s wifi data abilities.
Can anyone confirm that this is nonsense and or disinformation?

تعليق جديد